Can you use the CND lamp to cure other brands of gel?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sisky

Reaction score
Hello!
I realise that there are a few questions on here similar to mine, but I feel I need to ask this question and get a specific answer as I have only just started training!
I'm completely new to the gel system and have only just begun my training,
I have read through a few threads and the sticky note post about UV gel systems but I have only confused myself further.

I'm looking to purchase a UV lamp, to use for training and once qualified to use professionally on paying clients. I was told by my tutor to purchase a 36 watt lamp, so my first thought was to head over to sally's and purchase one, but since reading through these forums and discovering the CND lamp I am now wondering which brand to invest in.
I realise the CND lamp is used for Shellac, so this brings me to my first question...
If I were to purchase the CND lamp, would I be able to cure regular gel brands (eg. NSI) as well?

My second question is, do you have to have a specific brand lamp when doing gel nails? For example, at the moment I am using NSI balance sculting kit, I see you can purchase the NSI UV lamp, but I have looked at Sally's UV lamps and they stock ASP UV lamps which say they can be used to cure any gel system!

I am so confused, I just want to purchase a great UV lamp, without wasting my money on the wrong type.

Get yourself a good quality lamp. AVOID at all costs these cheapo ones from China.