cant get a job!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hollie_mummy

Reaction score
hi geeks, ive just been really upset lately and needed to come on here and moan for a bit! im a qualified nail tech. but no-where in my area is taking on, and if they are they want you to be either experianced or buy all my own products and rent a table and have my own clients! i dont have any money to buy products and i have 2 regular clients and i passed my course about 2 months ago.
i recently decided to try and get an apprenticeship in a salon doing hairdressing or beauty therapy, to stay within the industy and carry on doing nails in my free time, but ive just had a phone call from a salon i have applyed with saying that they have already filled the position. when will someone give me a break!
ive got a hungry baby too feed and a mortgage to keep up with and i need a job!
anyway, i feel a bit better now ive shared, sorry if that was really boring. im gunna go cry again now xxx:cry:

Ahh dont be sad! I feel for you and understand your catch 22 situation, you need experience but salons dont want you unless you are experienced!! :mad:

Apply to all salons in your local area and keep phoning them as there situations change. Save your pennies and buy some products.
Phone hair salons and ask if they have vacancies for juniors, hopefully something will come up really soon!

Good Luck & Chin Up!

Jacqui

Hi, sorry you are feeling so frustrated at the mo.

Just wanted to let you know that renting a chair is not as bad as it seems, I started in a salon in April, albeit to take over from someone who was leaving on maternity, BUT she was still working for the first month I was there.

Gradually, my bookings picked up, as I could take on all the new clients that had been enquiring about having their nails done, but the other techs were so busy they just couldnt take anyone new on.