CND Shellac separating on application

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waxandpolish

Reaction score
Hi

I have been doing nails for several years and only use CND polish and products. I do full pep on everyone and scrub-fresh all Nails before starting to paint. I have a couple of clients though who have an issue. I paint base coat and cure and when it comes out of the machine the coating has all separated, there are gaps and holes ... it almost looks like the effect of oil and water. Can't explain this very well - same two clients every time though. Any ideas?

Hi

I have been doing nails for several years and only use CND polish and products. I do full pep on everyone and scrub-fresh all Nails before starting to paint. I have a couple of clients though who have an issue. I paint base coat and cure and when it comes out of the machine the coating has all separated, there are gaps and holes ... it almost looks like the effect of oil and water. Can't explain this very well - same two clients every time though. Any ideas?
Are they highly pigmented colours?
If so, perhaps applying too thick? Or if it's getting to the end of the bottle?

Hi

This happens very occasionally to me so I know exactly what you mean!!....... one tip I could give you is make sure when you've scrubfreshed that the nail is absolutely dry before you base coat. This can also happen if there is any residue of product left on the nail too like cuticle away, maybe a hand cream the client has used. Even though you prep thoroughly you won't know if any residue is present until you start to paint. HTH X