Colored acrylic help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haralynn1231

Reaction score
I've been a nail tech for 4 years now and I've been doing a lot more of colored acrylic sets, and I used to not have any issues with my gel top coats peeling off but lately it's been a big issue! Not one issue at all when I use gel polish over the acrylic enhancement and top coat. It's only when I top coat my colored acrylic sets!

I always cap in clear acrylic, shape with my E-file, then finish file with a 180/100 grit file. I use the 180 side to finish file. I have just about tried everything I can think of! We did get new UV/LED lamps but I make sure I'm curing for the proper time.

I brush dust away, spray with 99% alcohol, and use a lint free wipe to cleanse the nail before top coating. I don't have this issue on every client but it seems to be happening more. But for some reason I don't have a single issue with my gel top coat on my own nails, I always use colored acrylic on myself and I do the exact same thing and use the exact same files/tools I use on my clients on myself.
(I always disinfecte/throw away tools so everyone gets new or properly cleaned tools)

What is happening?? I LOVE colored acrylic and don't want to stop! Most of my clients love it too!

Maybe you want a harder top coat? I am hearing kiara sky, ugly duckling, crystal nails work like a charm with acrylic.. Maybe you are smoothing the surface and top coat "slips"? When you use gel polish it sticks because it has a tacky layer and with encapsulating you smooth everything out and it doest stick?
I am not working with acrylics, just sharing my thoughts!

I use coloured acrylics and use same procedure but I use the gel bottle top coat and so far had no issues maybe worth changing brands x