Constructive website criticism please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BeautiqueSpa

Reaction score
Hi ladies,

Would love some constructive criticism advice on my website, I get lots of hits but not many visitors go on to direct book via my website. I get most of my bookings through Facebook inquiries asking when I'm available but people can book direct on my website a date and time they like. I get lots of people registering on my site too but don't know if the booking system is a bit laborious.

I would really appreciate some outside viewpoints on this.

www.beautiquebyriley.com

Thanks in advance xx

Hiya, I'm a professional web designer who's built many sites for hair/beauty professionals over the years (some on this forum) so I'll happily give you some constructive feedback. It may look like a lot but don't take it to heart it's all in the spirit of helping you improve it :)

Home Page
  • The menu font size is very small

• Is there a purpose for the search site box? These typically aren't worth worrying about.

• The home page intro text doesn't show on mobile

• The header area is very tall so even when I'm scrolling it's taking up a lot of viewing real estate space

• I think the footer should include the things like your opening hours, perhaps a social media feed, contact details etc. in a more refined way like columns. Footers can be really good spaces to get users to take action so don't waste it. You can see what I've done as an example (please don't copy) here on a clients site - https://weddinghairbytara.co.uk

• Under each circle image where you have 'book now' it's better if it was 'find out more' and take them to the relevant page as no one is going to book straight off the bat after just landing on a home page. You need to take the user on a journey

About Page