Contra-indication advice - PLEASE HELP!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XxX Becky XxX

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to Salon Geek, so I hope I've done this right. The site looks fab!

I really need some advice if anyone can help please? I'm getting a little stressed out!

I'm a newly qualified Beauty Therapist, & I'm starting up my own mobile business. I'm in the middle of putting my consultation forms together for each treatment, but the only problem is I'm a little unsure about contra-indications. I don't mean infectious/contagious ones (e.g. impetigo, conjunctivitis, herpes simplex etc.) I'ts medical conditions such as high or low blood pressure, thyroid problems, client's who've had cancer in the past, dysfunction of nervous system, heart conditions etc. We never covered any of those at college only diabetes & contra-indications you can visibly see, & now I'm really struggling to know when & when I shouldn't treat clients who have a medical condition. Can anyone please give me some more information about conditions that would contra-indicate a certain treatment? Can you do a leg wax on someone with high BP, for example. When should you get GP permission? I've searched the internet but haven't found much. Does anyone know where I can find this out?