Contract massage work- they have booked out my break!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lashed11

Reaction score
Hi Geeks,

Just thought I would write about a situation I have just encountered, and I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this and how you dealt with it.

I work as a massage therapist within a Physio clinic, as a contractor. Only 2 days a week. I give them 50% of my earnings each month. They deal with all the bookings. I get paid for each massage I do.

My scheduled hours on a sat are 10-2.30 , with a break at 12-12.30. I specifically chose a 4.5 hour shift because thats all i can actually handle of deep tissue massage. Dnt get me wrong i know there are therapists in spas who work 8hour massage shifts, i have been there myself and i ended up with sciatica. this is why i limit myself to a maximum 4 hours. and 4 hours are only possible if i get a wee break in between!! Every sat I have a break in between the first and last 2 hours of massage,I have made it clear that it's vital that I have this break because deep tissue massage is so intense, plus I have had a very dodgy neck and back recently, so I really need that break 1- to eat and drink and 2- to stretch off and save my muscles.

Yesterday (thursday) I looked in the diary for saturday and noticed that I am fully booked, and where my break normally is they have booked in a client. No break.

I emailed reception saying can you please reschedule that client on my break because I need a break. And she replied saying "no, the client has already paid"...

To which I replied "ok, but its not possible for me to do 4.5 hours of deep tissue massage without a break, they need rescheduled".