Cracked tan

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lipstick Kisses

Reaction score
Hiya! Hoping someone can suggest something, I tanned a client (suntana extradark) last Tuesday and she texted me yesterday to say it's all cracking on her arms and now her legs! View attachment 84284
She's says she's not been moisturising so i think that's what's caused it but she's got an event this week so wants to look nice, I told her to exfoliate and I would go back and re-spray tonight to cover it and then to keep moisturising afterwards, is this the right thing to do? I've been tanning for 3 years and never had this happen before! Any suggestions of causes and solutions greatly appreciated xx

Just looks like dry skin that's what happens when they don't moisturise . Hope your charging for another tan x

Sent from my SM-N9005 using SalonGeek mobile app

Yeah it's definitely the skin, the tan doesn't go scaly skin does. Looks like she needs to exfoliate, I usually recommend 3-4 days into the tan to start lightly exfoliating. X

Ah thank you! I will stress the importance of moisturising ☺️

Yep definitely her skin. Mine goes like that if I don't exfoliate or moisturise. If you told her it was very important to exfoliate & moisturise etc in the run up to her appointment when she booked I'd be charging her for redoing it.

You answered your own question after a week if proper upkeep has been done it will fade evenly if she's not been maintaining her tan it will do exactly that! Shaving can also cause this sort of effect!

I find the darker the tan, the more this can happen also x

DHA sensitivity. Yes I agree with all above, 'the tan won't go scaly the skin does' so comes down to maintenance and moisturising.