Quantcast

Credit cards

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

Steph86

Reaction score
Hi geeks,

I haven't had a credit card before, my mum kindly put my last training on her card, I have repaid this out of my wages.

I now want further training-and my mum isn't in a position to help me, so I am looking at a credit card for around £1,500-£2,000.

As I am new to this, I am ok to get a credit card to fund my training?

Obviously I want one with 0%, how do u go about getting a card and finding out the monthly repayments? Just want to check I could afford to pay them before I agree.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks xx

chazz!!

Reaction score
Santander have a 0% interest to 17 months, if you max out say £2000 your min payment would be about £30 a month but you would want to try and pay off as much a poss before the interest free runs out. Be carefully as I started my beauty room on credit cards and I was planning to to pay it all off as soon as that was tree years ago and I haven't Evan made a dent. I keep paying min payment then swapping the card when the interest free period runs out so I never get interest. You may also have trouble getting one if you have never had any lones or cards before x

kezza*

Reaction score
A lot of cards at the moment are offering about 18 months interest free when you transfer your credit card balance.

Steph86

Reaction score
Chazz- thank you for ur fab advice, I will take a look at santander-did you sign up online or in the bank? That's good news about the min repayments but like u said I need to look at paying it off before the 0% runs out, so I'd be looking at around £100 a month. What scares me is I think ooo but whàt position will I be in next year (ie out of a job or something :( that's why I've never got one before) but I don't think I'll ever have £1,500 just sat in the bank for training lol! Really appreciate ur advice and honesty xx

Kez- thanks, although I don't have a card to transfer. Xx

deb1511