Disillusioned with the state of the Nail Industry? - here's one for us ALL to debate!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I think that is because there are no uniform guildlines even is US each stat is govern differently

This is the first time I've posted on here. After reading thru most of the posts (not all sorry) I agree with what Sassy was saying and with most of the replies.

The one thing that I didn't see, and please forgive me if I missed it, as far as education, how many nail techs educate their clients? I'm not talking about educating them about NSS but about the products that the nail tech is using, upkeep, the care the client does at home etc. That's one thing that was instilled in me when I went to school to learn how "to do nails". I have been a Nail Technician for 13 years, I don't "do nails". I don't use that term any more as it demeans my profession.

As a recent transplant to the UK from the states where NSS are extremely abundant, they are not going anywhere. They will always be there for the clients who want a quick fix or don't want to pay for quality. When I had my salon, I didn't view them as competition because I trained my clients in after care and the like, and I knew they weren't competition because I'm good at what I do. Every time I had a cost of inflation increase, I would always lose a few and that was fine with me. I want people who are serious about their appearance and are willing to pay for quality work.