Double dipping?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MVStylist

Reaction score
I studied at the Aveda institute and we were told never to re-dip the spatula after using it on a client but when I went and studied at another local beauty school they said it was ok to double dip the spatula. I'm confused. What is the best way? I've heard bacteria can be killed if the wax is at a certain high temperature. Could I double dip and then turn up the wax to kill bacteria after finishing on a client?
I don't want to cross contaminate and get anybody hurt or sick but I'm also environmentally conscious so I don't necessarily like to use a bunch of spatulas either? Anyone have any suggestions?

Don't double dip and don't split spatulas' unless it's for tiny areas like upper lip or brows. Just source cheap spatula's and throw after each dip. By the way, splitting a spatula isn't double dipping.

I've read many conflicting theories on double dipping but I don't double dip because I just don't like it and also clients don't like it and they notice these things nowadays. HTH's.

I use a metal spatula for leg waxing only, so technically I guess that is double dipped. But once an area has had the hair removed, if I need to put a bit more wax on I use a wooden spatula and toss it after 1 use. I use wooden spats and never double dip for all other areas.

I use a metal spatula for leg waxing only, so technically I guess that is double dipped. But once an area has had the hair removed, if I need to put a bit more wax on I use a wooden spatula and toss it after 1 use. I use wooden spats and never double dip for all other areas.