Expanding into hair and beauty salon-need advice, please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cooey

Reaction score
hi all i would really appreciate some advice,I am a beauty therapist,
I currently work on my own in a beauty salon in a village in Warwickshire(one beauty room),which is going well after 5 years,I don't make mega bucks but a good income for me,and the hair salon next door is closing in August, so I am going to rent this space and expand my business to a 'hair and beauty salon'. The rent is fairly low and it is a great chance to have 2 beauty rooms and a couple of hairdressers. here are my concerns:
1)The thing is I don't know how to go about hiring staff, what wages are fair, and i plan to rent the hair chairs (as i don't know about hairdressing I thought this was the best option?) and I don't know what the fair rate is, example £50 per week plus 20% commission?
2)The other thing is I am pregnant due in September, so I will not be in the salon full time to manage the new staff and this worries me, probably the most actually! Of course I am delighted to be having a baby:D, but in an ideal world I would work full time and oversee the salon with all my new staff and manage everything myself.But with a new baby I planned to have a few months off and then work part time.The opportunity to expand is too good I think as I don't want to work on my own forever especially as i will have a family to look after too,I don't want to work full time.