Expectations from the salon owner when you rent...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

makeupartistzoe

Reaction score
Hiya All.

Just wondering what expectations you have for your boss/ salon owner when you pay a fixed rent for your chair, desk or room?

I'm about to take on my 3rd hairdresser and know there will be 'hands off thats my client!' and 'why has my client booked in with so and so' So I'm just trying to diffuse situations as soon as they happen, if not before...

...my background is I've always worked for myself, starting out on a rental basis which I thought was just lose/lose situation. I was never bothered not paying rent when I was quiet and just used to chill out but when I got busy I resented giving my share over! I've worked in two other salons as the only beauty person and got little to no help off the owners. As far as I was concerned I was paying them rent to help out their rent and was lucky to have such a nice base to rent! I worked really hard to find myself clients and to be there as much as possible in the hours they were open to promote myself and then opened my beautiful salon October 2010.

I provide beauty room, nail desk and hair chair rental. I do laundry, networking, manage everyones profiles on our website and facebook, promote those, get involved with local charity events, enter awards, initiate and pay for photoshoots and atm we are doing salon promotional videos. I carry business cards everywhere I go, have my car signed with the salon logo and details, advertise on other places online, link up with other local businesses and do everything I can to make sure my salon is the best I can make it and my team are happy!