SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Melodymoo

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a complete newbie, I’m very passionate about skincare and have decided I’d like to train in it.

I’d like to offer basic facials, steam, extractions etc and then go onto dermaplane, microdermabrasion, chemical peels etc.

My question is, which I’m really struggling with... what would be the best way to train?

I have found VTCT courses - this one in particular - https://www.thebeautyacademy.org/pr...ct-level-3-certificate-in-electrical-facials/ but I am worried that this training wouldnt be sufficient enough for me to be able to train and get insured for advanced courses. I do not want to take shortcuts, I want to train correctly and get the best knowledge I can. HOWEVER, I don’t want to (unless I absolutely must) want to do a NVQ in beauty therapy... purely because, the facial aspect and the A&P is the only thing I’m interested in doing... I have spoke to some insurance companies who have advised they will not insure me to do things such as dermaplane, chemical peels etc in the future with just those VTCT qualifications as they aren’t sufficient enough apparently...

Would I be able to do those 2 VTCT courses and also a Level 3 VTCT A&P course and then be qualified enough? I only want a recognised qualification as I may be moving to America in a few years time...

I am based in Gloucestershire but happy to travel for the right course.

Any help and advice would be appreciated! Thank you xx

Last edited:
If you’re looking to move to America you may wish to discuss with the state you’re moving to as many require a state licence regardless of having UK qualification meaning you’ll need to retrain regardless.