Feeling fed up of the beauty industry.

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaigeRosexxx

Reaction score
Hi guys, not sure if this is the right forum for this. I’ve been doing beauty on an off since 2018. Some weeks I love it, some weeks I hate it and feel really low and fed up. Depends what mood I’m in, and what type of clients I have. Is this normal? Or am I loosing my love for beauty?
I’m really creative and love doing treatments but I can’t help but feel this way… I have also received a couple of 4 star reviews recently when I usually get 5 star and even though it sounds silly, because it’s still good I guess, it gets to me.

I massively fluctuate with my enthusiasm and drive, all sorts of reasons, overtired is my usual trigger. If I have a holiday I usually come back reinvigorated and excited, but before I go and I'm over worked i hate it.

Currently I'm disenchanted, it all seems pointless when I'm fighting to stay open but losing clients fast.

In the past a training course would usually pull me out of a slump but there's no spare money for training at the moment

Hi Paige
I’ve been in Beauty for over 10 years and like Trinity my enthusiasm fluctuates. Right now I’m feeling optimistic (which is a bit irrational because times are tough, but I guess I like a challenge!). I do suffer from burn out and often feel very low and trapped when I’m actually doing very well.

I do benefit massively from courses and interaction with other therapists. I’ve no plans to attend courses this year (unless they are free) so I guess my motivation will start to flag at some point.

Self knowledge is key and that comes with experience. I’ve also invested in meditation and mindfulness training and that’s really helped me. I feel much stronger emotionally and if I start to feel anxious I know how to boost myself.