Gel polish colour coming off when I wipe?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaigeRosexxx

Reaction score
I have been doing gel nails for a couple of years now and sometimes I find when I wipe the tackiness off with nail polish remover some of the colour comes off, so I re apply the top coat or colour if needed and then do it again, or I cure for longer, and sometimes it STILL happens! It tends to be with the dark red colours! Why is this?! The clients always look at me worried and now I’m paranoid about wiping!

I have been doing gel nails for a couple of years now and sometimes I find when I wipe the tackiness off with nail polish remover some of the colour comes off, so I re apply the top coat or colour if needed and then do it again, or I cure for longer, and sometimes it STILL happens! It tends to be with the dark red colours! Why is this?! The clients always look at me worried and now I’m paranoid about wiping!

Try applying thinner colour coats, and also be sure that your top coat covers the entire application.

The top layer doesn’t cure in the presence of oxygen. That’s why it’s tacky. If you’re getting colour bleeding through your top coat, try applying two coats of top coat to ensure good, even coverage.

What brand are you using?
What lamp are you using?

There is a brand whose gel is super pigmented and does allow for quite a bit if colour to be removed with the dispersion layer, but unless it's that brsnd I would worry its uncured product. You shouldn't be using nail polish remover to remove the dispersion layer. IPA is a better product.

A few things: what brand are you using? What lamp are you using? I'd also be concerned that you are not thoroughly curing the color coat. What you describe is indicative of incomplete curing, especially with the darker colors.