Gel powder-does it exist?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Innova

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to nail systems so I don't want to rock the boat on a product that maybe I just haven't heard of! But my mother in law has been telling me that when she's goes to have her nails done in a nail bar in town and she asks for gels. The person who does them has 2 pots one marked gel and one marked acrylic. He then uses the "gel" powder mixed with a liquid to apply a coating on her nail before painting a normal gel paint over the top a curing it. Like I say I'm new to the nail side of the industry so I could be wrong but she has now chipped the system on her nail and the layers between her actual nail and the top of the system used is so thick I'm convinced they've been putting acrylic on then painting it with gel polish. Am I just jumping the gun or is there actually a gel powder product? I've been hunting and have only managed to find the dip system. Is there a chance they are mixing this and painting it onto the nail? I can't help but think they are being conned but thought I better check before I open my mouth and then find I'm in the wrong! Any help would be really appreciated and if this powder does exist can you tell me where I can get it and how it's used? Thanks x

This 'con ' has been around for what seems like forever . No there is no such thing as a 'gel powder ' as you are describing . You are right in your thinking . It is just plain old acrylic ( liquid & Powder to give it the correct name ) with what sounds like a gel polish over

For some bizarre reasons some salons feel the need to 'sell ' it like this . Why I have no idea :-(

So I was right to be suspicious! Thank you for confirming it for me. Now I have the job on convincing the mother in law that she's being conned! Lol