Gelish and tips

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vintagewife

Reaction score
Hiya :)

I just wanted to pick some nail technician's brains, if I may please.

I am a qualified nail technician, but haven't done it for a few years and don't intend to get back into it...BUT, just over a week ago I went and had my nails done at a local salon.

I asked for a full set of gel and wanted them painting afterwards, I know a lot of places advertise full set of gel or acrylic and have shellac/gelish on top. So when I read the price list on their website and it said Gel with tips and gelish, I assumed that I was getting just that.

The girl prepped my nails etc and all was going how I remember doing it, she shaped in oval like it asked and put primer on...this is when I got confused!

She just put on the base coat of gelish then 2 coats of my chosen colour and the top coat, that was it...no gel for structure or strength. I didn't say anything, as I assumed they knew what they were doing and as I haven't kept up with the latest nail trends, who was I to question the methods?

This cost me £35...4 days later 3 came off completely and left my own nails quite sore. I rang up and went back in last Friday, and she said it was me being rough with them (I'm not!) anyway the manager said she wouldn't charge me and that was that.

Yesterday (Sunday) my thumb nail snapped off and today one of my other nails the gelish is still on but the tip has snapped off!

Needless to say, I won't be going back there, and will be cancelling my appointment for two weeks, I will tell them then why I won't be going back.:evil:

I'm going to soak off the nails that are left as they are snapping along the tip (I would think this is because there is no gel there for strength-please correct me if I'm wrong!)