Gelish Top coat with Shellac

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bella771

Reaction score
Hi Geeks,

Just wondering if someone could help me. I have run out of shellac top coat and client has just asked for a shellac. i have it on order but wont have it on time for client. Would gelish top coat be ok to use with shellac or would it be best to hold off until i get my shellac? idont want clients nails chipping after a few days and want it to be professional and achieve the same look and lasting time as shellac? I have never used gelish before so if anyone knows if it would work and what the results are id be very grateful.

thanks soo much​

The Gelish Top it Off is a totally different product, and it needs to be buffed to break the surface before removal, as it is acetone resistant.
The whole selling point of the Shellac system is the lack of buffing, so between that and it is never advisable to mix systems I would say this is a big fat NO lol!

I was going to say it'd be fine ! (izzidoll, we must be following the same posts lol !) Obviously you'll always be told not to mix products but honestly it will be fine, ooh and I have just been told that Gelish top coat doesn't need buffing before soaking !

I was going to say it'd be fine ! (izzidoll, we must be following the same posts lol !) Obviously you'll always be told not to mix products but honestly it will be fine, ooh and I have just been told that Gelish top coat doesn't need buffing before soaking !

I have seen it mentioned in the Gelish lovers Group that some have tried removal without buffing the topcoat and had good results. I have alway followed the instructions given by Harmony and not tried it without.

However I still would not recommend mixing systems, gel polishes are different from a power polish and if there are any problems neither distributor will help and you would negate your insurance cover.