Going Global, Academy that is...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeni Giles

Reaction score
I was lucky enough to have just returned from the Scruples Global Academy. Scruples may be a hair product company, but the principals I learned apply to what we do. While attending this class I realized that the majority of us who spend time training and practicing apply principles and concepts that we don't realize we use.

Have you ever really thought about how a nail is balanced? The obvious answer is well of course, that's why I am a nail artist. The underlying talent is explaining that to your client. Could you? Would they be able to understand why you placed your apex in that particular area.

Do you tell your clients why you make their nails the shape that they are on the free edge? This shape is influenced by fashion and trends but not all clients can wear all shapes. What we do is analyze and compromise, we utilize the trends with in reason to fashion true enhancements. This also needs to be explained, let them verbalize what they like about that trend. Maybe they want to have a change but don't know how to approach you and gradually stop coming. If you had shared your knowledge and educated them they would have an opportunity to vocalize their needs and desires. Maybe they have a big trip planned and want to be a little wild, what if they are getting married and want a softer look than what they've had. Do you provide an opening for them to express their wants? Do they understand how and what will enhance their hands?