Help, advice on starting a gel nail business

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donna89

Reaction score
Hi im new to all this... i was just wondering wethrt anybody had any advice for me...i have no previous training but im really wanting to become a nail technician..but i cant afford to quit my joband go to college..so im looking at doing a home course any suggestion on the best 1 to get and resonable price many thanks donna xx

The home learn courses arent the best hun to be honest. I know there are geeks on here who have done them successfully but most have needed further training afterwards. You could try CND as they do a 5 day course if you could book holiday from work? X

Sent from my GT-I9100 using SalonGeek

I did a full nail technician course through capital hair and beauty. It cost about £400 but you are then qualified and can get the relevant insurance etc

thanks 4 the advice so they are the best 1's to go 4 if u have got no experiance? xx

Is there any reason why you want to do gel in particular?

I only ask because I did this (about 10 years ago) and couldn't find nearly enough clients who wanted gel . . . I was getting several people a week phoning up asking for acrylic (and not prepared to give gel a go) so after about 6 months I did an acrylic course as well and have not looked back. If I had stuck to gel I don't think I would still be in business now.

But it probably varies from area to area and also, as I said, that was a while ago, but something to think about maybe. Just trying to help :) x