Help! I feel like giving up with acrylics!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

anneliz

Reaction score
Hi everyone..Im new to acrylics. Did VTCT Nail Treatments, then VTCT Nail Art and now currently doing VTCT Nail Extensions at local college. Im 44 and quite ill with Fibromyalgia..but trying not to feel sorry for myself, so keep trying! The rest of my class are 16-17 and seem to find it all so easy..

I am shocked at how difficult it is to apply good looking acrylics!! My teacher has told me that I shouldnt be such a perfectionist..and to just get on with it..also that I need more confidence BUT as a few others have said on here..I cant charge someone unless their nails look superb! Last night at college we had a trial assesment and it was the first time Ive tried to apply all ten nails!! It all went a bit wrong..mainly as I was far too slow (and the girl I was working on kept telling me so which didnt help!) My main trouble is blending the tips into the natural nail.

Im so scared of damaging the natural nail or blending away too much tip..or touching skin and making the client bleed..it all got too much last night that I ended up bursting into tears!! I am also worried about my son having an operation..but I just couldnt get a grip on doing 10 nails!! Today I feel like giving it all up and never going back, as next week we have our first proper assignment and I cant even get a client for it due to the time of the class.

I dont know what advice Im asking for but I just wanted to write and basically ask if anyone else felt like giving up and found it virtually impossible, and how many years of practice do you need to apply perfect nails? Also do you customise your tips while client is sat there before gluing on?..Thats how we've been taught but it takes ages!! Im even scared of the glue!! help..please, I need encouragement!!!