Help! Just don't know what to do

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bdnails

Reaction score
Hi geeks

I need some advice, this is a long one so I'm sorry in advance!

I've been a mobile technician for just over a year, I'm confident in what I'm doing however I know I'm still fairly new to the business and only have a bit of experience. I've been applying for a salon job for a while and have not had much luck until recently. I applied for a job in a new salon and went to the interview, the woman who interviewed me already owns her own business but also owns a lot of land and has a building on her land which she wants to turn into a salon. She has no beauty, hair or nails experience but wants to take me on to run the salon. She has a lot of money and will pay me an hourly rate, she has said I can choose which products i use, she will buy me all top of the range furniture, she will fund any courses I want to go on to improve my skills and I can choose my own opening hours. There are no nail salons in the area for about 5 miles so I think it could do well. She will build me a website and get quality marketing material for me to use.
My only worry is because its a brand new salon I will have to do a lot of self promoting and advertising and I'm worried in case she puts all of this money into it and it doesn't come off. She wants to open the salon as she has a teenage daughter at college doing beauty and her idea is that once she qualifies, she can introduce tanning, eyelashes etc and it will become a nails and beauty salon.
I've been to a few meetings now with this woman and she's ready to get the ball rolling, we're supposed to be ordering supplies etc tomorrow but I feel like its just too good to be true and I don't know whether I'm being naive thinking it could work?!
Thing is if I pull it off, I've got a really good opportunity here!