Help!! My poor nails :(

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kittykate

Reaction score
Hi guys, I really need some advice.

I'm not a trained professional, I was looking into doing a short course, but due to the following, I've decided to take a longer course using Creative products. I've had my nails done hundreds of times and therefore know what goes on, etc (once had my nails done in a place that drilled my poor cuticles. Now I am VERY picky about where I get my enhancements done).

Anyway, my sister in law saw my nails one day and decided she'd like to be a tech. I encouraged her, and she went to a 2 day course near Manchester. That was about 3 weeks ago and she's practiced on 3 family members since. She did mine yesterday (I'd left them natural for the last few months).

I know she is only a beginner but the way she has done them and how they are now are really worrying me. Firstly her working technique is slow (understandable) but she had to be reminded twice to remove my (nude) nail polish before priming my nails (she is excellent with matters of hygiene however). The white tip application is all over the place - the tips seem very far down my nails (and I have good, long nail beds and a decent amount of nail, I'm not a biter etc). In some cases they are halfway down my natural nail! They are all lengths, and I asked for them squared off, she seems to have been taught that squared off is oval, as some are squarer and some are perfectly oval. Anyway, she used a powder & acrylic gel which set under a UV lamp - she told me it was perfectly normal to tingle, but it felt very tight and momentarily painful (for a few seconds).