Help, nails chipping

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Wonder if anybody could help me
I’ve been a gel nail tech for just under a year now I’m mobile I used the gel bottle and never massively had a problem until recently so I’ve changed my lamp still no difference
Peoples nails chipping
Completely just peeling off
It doesn’t happen to any other brand other than the gel bottle?
Might be a silly question... I’m wondering as it’s cold and they’re always cold could they be chipping because I need to warm the bottles up first?
I would upload pics but won’t let me
If people could reply ASAP that would be great xx

Are you using The Gel Bottle lamp?
It sounds like they aren’t completely cured

It’s this one which is the same make as the gel bottle?

Attachments

• 52EF888F-D896-4B85-82FD-7839701C9D62.png
    52EF888F-D896-4B85-82FD-7839701C9D62.png
    325.9 KB · Views: 104
It’s this one which is the same make as the gel bottle?

It is made by the same company (SUNUV) but this lamp doesn't have as many LED bulbs in which TGB had added to their lamp especially to improve curing the free edge, which should prevent chipping. Although the lamp you use is similar and popular with TGB nail techs before they introduced their own lamp, there's no guarantee you'll get a perfect cure with it, especially if the client's hand placement isn't quite right.
Also, TGB should be applied thicker than most other brands. If it's applied too thin it can also chip. Could that be a possibility?
Are you dehydrating the nail plate thoroughly with pure acetone and nothing else before applying? And are you also using TGB Base and top coat?