How much rent would/do you charge makeup artist?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lauren.

Reaction score
Hi, I'm looking to rent space to a self employed makeup artist in my shop. I've found a girl and have said I will be wanting £50/week, I will give her a key so she can have access up 7 days a week (I know her so don't have any issues with trust etc) She said £50 is fine but I just want to check I'm not overcharging her. She will mainly only be able to do evenings and weekends as she has a full time job but I presume most makeup is needed weekends and evenings anyway.

Would really appreciate any advice as I'm new to renting space, thank you x

IMHO not worth the hassle for £50.

I'd be wanting £100 pw

I don't think that's over charging I think that's fine if that's the going rate in your area :) it's extra money in your pocket at the end of every week :)

It's not really extra money if the therapist is going to be opening up when you wouldn't normally be open as they will be using electric, gas & water etc.. that you wouldn't be using so make sure that whatever you decide to charge will cover these extra bills and put something in your pocket afterwards.

Thank you for all the replies. All my bills, gas, electric etc are included in my rent so her being in other days won't affect that but good point I never thought about that!

I do know that you can get a full beauty room round here for £100/week and I just thought that makeup artists don't really use any electric and it's all her own products she's using, I'm also only giving her a small space in the salon so don't want to take the mickey with what I'm asking for rent but also do want to make some money myself.

Thanks again x

My concern would be the likelihood of her actually making a living from it.
I don't know of any make-up artists who work from a base like this.