How much should I be paid per hour/commission?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HMC

Reaction score
My boss is not in the beauty industry aside from owning our studio - so I'd like to go to him with my own research/figures when I ask him to revalue my pay rate. I know he will do his own research too. I understand the answer depends on a lot of factors, but just want to get an idea.
  1. What's the approx. pay difference between a junior and senior therapist, head-therapist and head-therapist/manager? (I am the head-therapist/manager)
  2. Is commission generally 10-15%?
I am in Auckland, New Zealand (rural). I have 8 years of hands-on experience. I am working approx. 40-50hours per week. I manage the day-to-day running of the studio with 2 other staff (1x junior therapist, 1x 6hr/week reception helper). I do all admin, marketing, website updating and designing. I also have my own weekly schedule almost always fully booked with treatments. The only thing I don't do for the business is pay accounts and staff wages.

There is no commission structure currently. I am currently paid $24NZ/HR, no commission.

I've just been told by a mentor in the industry to be asking for $30/HR + at least 10% commission. She has sent me here to ask for more advice.
What do you get paid? What do you pay your staff? Commission? Any advice you can give I appreciate, thank you.

Last edited: