Hypoallergenic nail products

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nails_by_madsl

Reaction score
I’ve been a nail tech for almost a year now, I’ve been doing my own nails since October but had gel nail extensions on and off since March 2019. In January 2020 the skin under the nails of thumbs started to look flakey and then it began to feel like a callus. I was using ibd hard builder gel. I took off the nails because it was too itchy.

I went to cosmoprof and got CND Brisa gel, did a fresh set, but the rash came back in a few days back so I took them off.
So then I tried acrylics (haven’t done them in forever on myself, but I made sure to get as little product as possible on myself), but I had to take them off the next day because my fingers became super swollen and painful.

Does anyone know of Polygel or gel that’s good for allergies/ sensitivities. My fingers don’t react to gel polish, only sculpting gels and acrylics. I miss my extensions so much. I always make sure to wipe off the dust and cure for the proper time. I don’t have an apt until May to test for allergies.
Thanks!

IkoniQ are hypoallergenic gels. They have a product called Polytek.
Have you been tested for your allergies?

They don’t ship to USA, I’ve been in contact with them already. I have an appointment in May for allergies.

I think most, if not all nail enhancements contain a form of methacrylates.
That’s what I’m allergic to so for me, it’s important to carefully check the ingredients rather than rely on terms such as hypoallergenic, which is pretty meaningless to an allergy sufferer.

I can only use ordinary nail polish now.

I think most, if not all nail enhancements contain a form of methacrylates.
That’s what I’m allergic to so for me, it’s important to carefully check the ingredients rather than rely on terms such as hypoallergenic, which is pretty meaningless to an allergy sufferer.