I’m not good at acrylics

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaigeRosexxx

Reaction score
I’m feeling so down in the dumps and fed up. I qualified in acrylics in May, and haven’t done them a lot since, not back to back anyway. The odd set here and there (I work in a salon so do other treatments too so not always available) and I had a set in yesterday. My boss wants me to charge full price now..... (not comfortable with this) anyway the girl yesterday was lovely, suffered with anxiety and she seemed happy with her nails, and the colour choice (I wasn’t a fan) she complained saying some tips didn’t fit right, the colour is patchy(glitter on top of a colour), they look grown out, and two have chipped.... very upset about this as I spent so long on them. She said I was lovely but wanted a re fund which is fair enough!!! I just feel deflated. Will I ever improve😢 or should I just give up. Second complaint to my boss about acrylics now. It’s the only service that seems to be letting me down 😭 I enjoy doing nails so much but I want to let it go because I’m Clearly not good at acrylics!!

Hi, please don't be despondent! Acrylic nails are an art form and it sounds like you haven't had enough exposure to clients to really perfect your skills. It's one thing passing a course but you need to build up your treatment experience to reach a professional standard. You state that you qualified in May but haven't done that many treatments. Can you get some models/friends/family to model for you and get some developmental feedback from your manager to help you progress and build your confidence?