I know you're not meant to...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Olive293

Reaction score
... But I toned with KP high lift last night. She was so pleased with the result.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    525.4 KB · Views: 153
Why? Had you run out of CT?
Did you mix it with 40 vol?

i do this all the time its great :) x

@AcidPerm what is going on with the world[emoji15][emoji15]

I had everything with me (was mobile at a friends house). I have never done it before and was with a friend who says she does it regularly at her salon. I work alone so I suppose I wanted to try it out whilst having the input and agreance of someone else with me.

I had everything with me (was mobile at a friends house). I have never done it before and was with a friend who says she does it regularly at her salon. I work alone so I suppose I wanted to try it out whilst having the input and agreance of someone else with me.

I wouldn't recommend doing it again.

Highlifts are made to lift and provide intense tone (the clues in the name). Due to this the ammonia content is MUCH higher than regular tint and will in fact destroy compromised hair where regular tint would not.

@Olive293 The reason that you generally don't want to tone with highlift is that by running a product that is so alkaline over hair that has been already lightened you are over lifting the cuticle and eventually it won't hold onto any colour. If you are mixing it with a high developer like 30 or 40 vol you will also eventually sensitise the hair making it weaker and prone to breakage. If you were toning a full head lightener it would likely also cause scalp irritation.

So preferably once you have achieved your desired level of lift with your lightener you would tone with a demi permanent, especially an acidic demi. If you dont need to lift the hair anymore then you don't need something so powerful.