I think I have MMA nails, now what?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justrose

Reaction score
Hello,
Before I begin I just want to say I am new to this site and I am new to acrylics. I am NOT a professional by any means. I have attempted acrylics multiple times myself but with awful results. I am planning on going to beauty school to learn how to do them properly after high school.

I decided to go to a salon to get them done and I thought they looked pretty good. I noticed some of their procedures were a bit off. They used an e-file on my natural nails, didn't seem to sanitize my nails beforehand, and I could not see the brand of the monomer.
I pay about $28 for a full set and about $22 for a fill. I have had them for about a month and a half now.

Anyways, One of my acrylics cracked so I just decided to remove the whole nail so I could just get it replaced a few days later. I soaked it in acetone and tried to scrape it off but it was gummy and stringy. It took me an hour just to remove half of a pinky nail.

My nail underneath hurts and is very sensitive and thin. It has some white dent spots as well. It almost feels numb. When I file them, it smells like fish.

Are these most likely MMA? I didn't know about MMA until recently but now I am scared that is what I got. I was so excited about them too! I don't know what to do about it. How do I remove them? It will take forever with acetone. Should I just buy an E-file and file them off myself? Or should I go to a new salon to fix them for me?