Instructions for removing gel nail enhancements

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mdnaples

Reaction score
Hi Everyone :)
I am not a professional nail tech yet, i got a long ways to go but i am on here asking questions and getting great help along the way :)
I had my gel nails applied 2 weeks ago, i dont and wont go back to the person that did them since i had a bad experience. They look like they need in-filled (is that what you call it? Sorry, I have no knowledge of enhancements, learning terminology) So...i want to remove my nails myself...please correct me if im wrong...this is what i was planning on doing ?

1. Buff Nails with rough nail file to break the gel seal
2. Soak in acetone (i bought a bottle of pure acetone from sallys) or can i wrap acetone soaked cotton pad and then cover each finger with tin foil?
3. wash hands free of acetone
4. Treat nails with Solar Oil

I know there are good nail techs that could do this process for me but i want to know and learn how to do this the correct way. The last time i got them removed i was shocked at how harsh they were in taking them off and they charged me $20. yep they used the drill and hacked at my nails to get them off ...wasnt pleasant. Practising on myself will be good :)

Hope you can help :) I'm ready to take them off :)
Michelle ( newbie )

The first question you need to answer is, are you wearing a soak off gel or a buff off gel?
A buff off gel will not soak off whether or not you break the seal with a file.
So what are you wearing and the brand name please?

I don't know the brand name ...they told me they were pink and white gel nail enhancements. All i know is he added a white tip and painted the gel over my whole natural nail. That's all i know sorry. The gel was in a small white tub other than that i didn't see a brand name.

:(