Is it ok to apply enhancements to really thin nails?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kimberley1978

Reaction score
Is it ok to apply use enhancement when the natural nails are so thin?

Kimberley

How thin are we talking, is there any medical reason for them being so thin?
I would normally say that thin nails will be protected by enhancements. Sometimes if a client has thin nails, say from abuse by e-file at a NSS, having an overlay is better than leaving them unprotected, as long as you are treating the new growth well.

My own nails are so thin I don't think they come much thinner. Not through damage either. I remember when I started learning nails thinking, if the business doesn't take off, it will have been worth it just to do mine!

Personally, my little flimsy nails flex so much, I find I get on better with a soak off gel than anything else as it will bend and flex with my nail instead of fighting with it! hth x

Thanks. It's my own nails actually. I've messed them up for myself by biting (shameful I know) the gel off whilst I've been practising using forms. They just look and feel so awful now I wanna have another go. Just wanted to check it wasn't gonna make 'em worse.

Kimberley x

the worse thing i found about practising on yourself , if your nails are already weak , is that if you do get any lifting and you are likely to bite DONT DO IT ,

also if you do decide to apply them , make sure you keep them short and managable ,as the canvas you are putting them on is not strong enough to take length.

Will do. I only get tempted as I do nails from home but work in an office in the week so if I don't like what i've done I am naughty/stupid and pick while I'm at work :o/

Thanks for the advice