Is it worth doing a level 1 course? (teaching/cpd question)

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laurakate

Reaction score
I've been in the industry for five years and I'm a fully qualified beauty therapist. My makeup training to date is vtct level 3 qualifications in fashion and photographic makeup and airbrush makeup. Ultimately I am wanting to teach (evening courses only!) in college.

I have the chance to do vtct level 1 in themed face painting. I would LOVE to do this because it is something I am very keen to add to my makeup skills. However I am also aware that there is a vtct level 3 qualification in face and body art that I might be better off doing. I'm not sure though because it is more expensive, I'm not that interested in doing body art due to my mobility limitations and I'm not sure that I need to be level 3 qualified in all types of makeup considering most colleges only offer the types of makeup I am already qualified in as evening courses.

The level 1 course is in line with my interests but for the purpose of teaching employment opportunities I'm worried that I'll be cutting myself short if I don't do it as the level 3 qualification.

What would you do? Feedback very much appreciated :)

I would recommend you go straight for the level 3 course.
The level 1 will be way to easy for you and wouldn't be of value for teaching later.

I would recommend you go straight for the level 3 course.
The level 1 will be way to easy for you and wouldn't be of value for teaching later.

Thanks.

It feels like a tricky decision because level 3 would be the ideal because it holds value for teaching.

Thing is though, level 3 face and body art is never taught as a separate unit/evening/part time course in FE so I'm not sure if it is something that I would have the opportunity to teach anyway.