Is she too heavy?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hiya, I’m currently a mobile therapist and have had a booking for an eyebrow wax and tint. When I went to do her patch test I saw that she was a very large lady, my bed says it holds max. 35 stones but I’m worried that it may be an exaggeration. Am I being too cautious? I don’t want to be rude to the lady and ask her weight (my guess is around 30st) but I also think she would be more embarrassed if the bed were to break, not to mention any injuries. Has anyone had this issue? Thanks in advance x

I wouldn't even try and get her on the bed - have her sat in the chair where she is most comfortable and do it from there.

Thank you. I was thinking of doing that.

Yes have her sat on a chair, I’ve had a client breaking my bed, it didn’t fall, but it cracked and I couldn’t use anymore due to the squeaky noises, I don’t think she was the max weight but it can happen when they sit on x

Mine has held some very huge people yet it was broken by a tiny woman jumping off of it. It’s not so much the weight as how it is spread out. My mum is a nightmare just sees it and jumps smack bang into the middle of it and I tell her off. I often explain how to get on and if someone is being reckless the next time I don’t let them get on it unaided and tell them step by step - stand on stool. Sit on couch. Lay down. Some people need it explaining.

If you have a notched couch you can double up the legs. So the lower it is, the thicker the legs and the more sturdy it is. I have to have mine as high as it goes or I get a bad back so it’s two pieces of wood attached only sat the middle, but if someone is very big I will drop it a few notches. The wood being doubled up gives added strength. When they are very very big, I drop it down quite a way and tighten the knobs.