Is your receptionist losing you business?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sassy Hassy

Reaction score
Well my gob is well and truly smacked today by an encounter I had with a nail salon that I pass on my way to the gym. I suddenly thought that they may be okay to recommend to my clients when I skidaddle to Spain, so I pootled in to have a chat about what they have to offer.

I was greeted by a very amiable lady who when I asked do they do gel nails asked if I could come back tomorrow as their nail tech wasn't in today. Okay I thought not a real problem. Then I saw they were selling Creative solar products so asked if the technician used Creative products for enhancements. Again she didn't have a clue. So I then told her that I was an emigrating tech looking to recommend a local salon to my clients. OMG I couldn't believe it when she promoted the local NSS :eek: :eek: :eek: !!!! Where was the loyalty with her own salon? And then she recommended somewhere else :eek: :eek: :eek: ! Do they actually want clients in their place?

If I'd been a client I would not have gone back there because the tech is only there at odd hours, and yet they call themselves a tanning and nail salon. I've walked past so many times and never seen a nail client and I can't say I'm surprised when the nail tech is rarely there.

So the moral of this story is if you employ a receptionist for goodness sakes spend some time training them so they can talk with a certain amount of authority and give you confidence in what you have to offer ... and not send me to the worst salon in town.

How do they run a salon like this?It baffles me.Surely a receptionist should be able to give out loads of info thats what they are for aren't they?