I've had a freak allergic reaction to henna brow tint. Any ideas?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rebecca697

Reaction score
So I've been tinting my brows for around the last 5 years every 2 weeks with black brow tints. Around 18 months ago I was feeling lazy and went to a salon for a brow wax and tint, the lady left it on for around half hour even though I kept asking her to remove it but she had walked away with another client. The next day my brow hair started to fall out and my skin was very burnt. I called the salon but she explained she had no ideas on what might help soothe my skin. I am now allergic to hair dye also as I had blonde hair at the time but I am naturally brunette so I had my hair immediately taken back dark which burnt and blistered my scalp. I waited 6 months then patch tested some tint on my arm - no reaction. 48 hours after patch test I tinted my brows only to wake up the next day with yet again no skin on my brows and blisters on my arm where the patch test had been days before. I was then scared to use any type of tinting products on my skin and drawn my eyebrows on daily. Around 3 months ago I went to a salon for my lashes done which I am not allergic to lash glues. The therapist told me about a henna tint she has been using on people that react badly to tint. We gave it ago and I was fine, I've been using it since. On Friday I went for a lash infill and a brow wax and tint (henna tint) then woke up Saturday morning with again no skin on my brows and missing brow hair but this time my eyes had swelled shut and even my cheeks had swelled. It had still not calmed down by Sunday so I decided it was time to take a trip to the A&E where I was given more antihistamines and prednisolone (steroid tablets to reduce swelling). I don't dare apply lash remover to take off the lashes that haven't fell out so I have removed them by soaking them in va