Job-less, car-less, what to do?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rory Love

Reaction score
Hey all,

Feeling very down about everything right now. Just been told I'm not entitled to job seeker's allowance as my boyfriend works 30 hours pw (minimum wage) and as I live with him and his family I can't have anything. I still have to pay rent to his dad and pay for food shopping every week! I was working as a store manager in a gadget shop over Christmas but it closed down at the beginning of Feb.

So now what?
I'm currently doing the CND Complete Course, just completed manicure day and have Shellac day on 7th March. I'm completely new to nails other than having a giant nail polish collection. I don't drive, home salon isn't an option and I have no clients or salon experience so.. What can I do?

Do you think it's a crazy idea for me to advertise in my local area (very built up with housing) and walk to these people's homes and offer natural nail treatments while still training in enhancements? Or maybe advertise for bigger group treatments like pamper parties and princess parties? (I read that you can get full insurance on treatments you have trained in before completing a course if you get something written from your educator?)

Or do I keep looking for work in retail or admin and practice nails for when I do eventually start up?

Any help appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
He should be entitled to Working Tax Credit. As long as he is working 30 hours a week.

He should be entitled to Working Tax Credit. As long as he is working 30 hours a week.

Unfortunately not. I think it goes on household income so if his mum and dad are working they won't get it

Nothing that I filled in asked me anything to do with anyone's wage.
All they know is I'm living with my boyfriend who works 30 hours a week.