Koleston Special Blondes

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ioana01

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am considering to use wella koleston special blonde as alternative to bleach for roots, but since I haven’t tried these so far I kindly ask your advice. I am a young professional, and have a client with natural 7, and need to get her to 10, or even slightly more considering that she was previously bleached and tonned with Wella Illumina 10/69 on length. would special blonde work fo the roots, or do I still need to continue with bleach? One friend told me that even though I would use 40vol for koleston special blonde, I would still get orange-ish instead of pale yellow level of lift, as I need.. is that true? Is it a combination in this range that could help me lift efficiently? I heard that this could help but don’t know if it’s good.. 12/0 & 12/81 & 12/96.
Thank you for support!

Hello, need your support hopefully until Monday.. your advice is highly appreciated!

If you want a cool blonde tone, highlifts don’t work so well on anything darker than an 8 so you’re better off lifting with bleach and low vol developer followed by a toner.

Thank you! That was my worry, but was hoping to get rid of bleach.. :(

Thank you! That was my worry, but was hoping to get rid of bleach.. :(
I find that 12/89 is usually the cleanest lift I can get with highlife, I find that 12/81 leaves too much of hue and never looks as light as 12/89. What strength developer are you using with your bleach?

Hi, for bleach on the roots only 20 vol. For Koleston special Id use 40 vol.
Im going to risk with koleston special blonde as the client doesn’t want bleach anymore..
Thanks

Hi, for bleach on the roots only 20 vol. For Koleston special Id use 40 vol.
Im going to risk with koleston special blonde as the client doesn’t want bleach anymore..
Thanks