Late-comers to hairdressing

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EmmieRose

Reaction score
I'm a nail tech (though I just do mani / pedis and nail art, disliking working with gel extensions), and have a couple of other trainings and careers I won't bore you with. I started the hair course in my early twenties but got distracted by life and didn't finish. I'm now thinking of going back to hair school (it's a ten month course here) when my son graduates high school (logistically it would be very difficult to do so before he's launched off to college, university, or wherever he's going, because the closest school is an hour and a half from where we live and I don't want to move him). That is five years from now and at that time I'll be 44. I, by no means, think 44 is old, but do know standing for long periods (although, I've heard they have nifty moving chairs hairdressers can use now while working) and working with your hands, can take a toll on any body, particularly an aging one. My wonder is, if I invest in the course at that age, how long can I expect to work? I know this is very individual to how I take care of myself (I'm in pretty good shape, eat well and exercise) and genetics, etc (ie, if I get rheumatoid arthritis in my hands like my aunt, I'm in trouble). My general plan would be to work as a hairdresser while continuing to do mani-pedis, possibly at the salon I work at now, or possibly moving to a new town to start over (more challenging again because I'd have to completely build up a new clientele, and at least I'm somewhat known as a manicurist / pedicurist where I live). As I said, I also have a couple of other endeavours on the side. This means I'd like to work in a salon probably four days a week to leave a day or two for that other work. Sorry so long... my general point is, I would like to hear from those who did their training a bit later in life; ho