Legal requirements of working from home?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NewMoonLV

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to all this working for myself business, I don't really know what I'm doing to be honest. Basically I'm a qualified complementary therapist, I qualified 5 years ago but have never had any employment from it. I'm ready to start setting up as a sole trader, I've applied for a tax assessment, spent hours researching ways to promote my buisness and I've just applied for insurance. I was feeling great, then I excitedly told my partner that I've just applied for insurance for him to tell me that I can't work from home without landlords permission and "you haven't even got any customers anyway"... bubble...POP. I will show him!!! So after some googleing online....

Can anyone tell me, how do I get permission from landlord?

Do I need to also apply to the council and how do I do this?

Does anyone on here work from home (specifically in a block of flats/apartments)? And what legal steps did you need to take?

Thank you

Sam.

Not wanting to be negative - I’d be very surprised if your landlord gave permission....
As a landlord myself, I know my building insurance would not cover this.

I agree with Red Star. Check your lease for terms regarding the running of a business from your property, that could clear up whether it's even worth contacting the landlord.

Thank you for replying. Any advice on what I could do instead of working from home? I can't afford to rent a building/shop and I don't drive so can't go mobile.

Thank you for replying. Any advice on what I could do instead of working from home? I can't afford to rent a building/shop and I don't drive so can't go mobile.
Contact some salons locally and see if they have any vacancies?