Lifting a toner which was too dark/wrong color with the least amount of damage

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

npendarvis

LadyHighlander
Reaction score
Hey All,
Happy Holidays! Here is my story. I am a retired hair stylist and when I started going gray about five years ago I knew I either needed to go gray naturally by cutting it in a pixie style and see what grows out or take the plunge and become a platinum blonde. I decided to lighten my roots and become a silvery but warm white platinum blonde. My natural hair color is a dark brown level 4 to 5 and has about 50/50 gray/white in some areas in my crown and then I have pure white around my hairline and temples. I have been bleaching my roots for over three years now. My latest hair stylist uses TIGI lightening powder and 20Vol developer. We leave it on for a total of 50 minutes (I know there are some of you who will not like to hear that but I truly have strong integrity to my hair and it has endured it well. ALSO, I use Olaplex 2 at least once a week and leave it on for an hour.) We can lift my roots to about a level 9.7 and sometimes a level 10. I USUALLY don't like the TIGI gloss toners because they don't last long at all. Consequently, I will have her use an old school brand that I know works everytime for me. It is Wella Color Charm T18/Violet Base mixed 50/50 with Wella T11/Violet-Gold Base and 20v. This will last for 6 to 8 weeks. If we do use a TIGI gloss it is about a 30/70 mix of 9/2-Violet mixed with10/0-Neutral. The result is a slightly warmer white/pale yellow baby blonde, which I have to retone with Wella toners in about two weeks.