Message for Mrs. Geek or Geek

• Thread starter nothingbutnails
  • Start date
SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nothingbutnails

Hi there,

Was wondering your opinion. I have been doing nails for approx 4 years. Have one assessment to go before finishing my N.V.Q. Have worked as a mobile tech for 1 year, then salon for 2 years, then moved onto another salon and have been there for 7 months.

I absolutely love doing nails and it is so nice to be doing a job that I love after 20 years stuck in an office. Having my daughter at the grand old age of 38 inspired me to change direction and wow am I glad I did.

I really would love to open a nail/beauty salon in the future, but lots of people have been saying to me "better to stay as you are" very stressful having your own salon etc., but I feel that I want to move on. I would like to either have my own salon or become an educator, what are the pros and cons of both. Your advice would be appreciated.

Well I'm not Mr or Mrs Geek, but I have been the owner of a small chain of three salons in my time so I thought I would comment.

There are pros and cons to everything and I suggest you write down a list of them in black and white on paper and weigh up the results.

Some of the cons are.

Larger overheads but will you have a larger business?