Messy gelbond with DD

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blinkingorgeous

Reaction score
Last night I did a set of dashing divas under shellac.

After doing previous sets of DD with their glue and finding 2 clients had probs with them coming off (I haven't done too many I'm new to nails). So I bought some gelbond and used that last night on a client. Oh my goodness I nearly stuck my fingers to the client at least 5 times and got myself in such a mess. Then buffed the DD slightly and applied my shellac coats.

My question is, how do you all not stick your fingers together and get in a mess!!!! It's because it's a tube of glue without a brush, any help much appreciated. Xx

You could use your dotting tool to apply the gelbond to the DD,

Remember a little goes a really long way .

Www.lilmissbuffit.com
Sent from my iPad using SalonGeek

Also you only have 10 seconds to work the adhesive.

No pressure there then lol.

Jacqui xx

Oh my love, I've been in that position myself more than a couple of times!

Gelbond is pressure set so it won't set until you press it... Try pressing the dd down onto the nail from tip towards the eponichium.. Does that make sense? So any excess comes out onto the nail and not out the end. Then using a dry pad wipe the excess glue down over the dd rather than all over the nail.

It will take a while to get a feel for how much is enough. In the beginning I used the pile it on and it'll stick better method which isn't really the most effective one lol :)

oh my goodness geeks, Im cracking up laughing, I was definately using the more is better method, Im thinking back on it now and have tears of laughter in my eyes :lol:

I seriously got myself in such a mess and when I say I got myself stuck about 5 times it was probably significantly more than that :eek: