Mobile hairdressing advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

francesXXX

Reaction score
I’ve been hairdressing for 16 years and the last 8 of those I’ve been mobile, I loved it for the first few years but my back is now really causing me problems to the point I’m in pain at work every day, from the amount of time I spend in the car (I have a tiny, very uncomfortable car which I can’t afford to change), from bending over people’s baths to wash hair and carrying my heavy equipment about, sometimes up and down staircases. I’m only 34 and I feel like my back is a mess already, I can’t imagine doing this for my entire career. I looked into renting a chair in a salon but none of my local ones are interested, I live in an area where they’re all big chains that just want employees to work 60 hour+ weeks (like I used to). I live in a flat which is definitely not suitable for clients to visit me, that’s if I could actually manage to get them to come to me anyway. I just think why would someone choose to do that when they could go to a nice salon. My long term dream is to have some sort of home salon, but at the moment I have nowhere near enough money for that kind of plan and my only option is to either go back to being a salon employee and give up my hopes, or continue with mobile and put up with the back pain. Sorry for the moan but I’m getting to the point where I’m considering giving up hairdressing, which would be so sad because I actually love it. Anyone been in this sort of situation before??