Mobile to home salon

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

francesXXX

Reaction score
I have been hairdressing for 17 years (age 34), have been mobile for the last 9 and have been happy with that lifestyle, however I’m starting to get very tired of the travelling around. I am lucky that I’m busy, but people always try to convince me to travel quite far out of my area and when I get word of mouth recommendations (which is what you rely on a lot as a mobile), they’re not always in my area. I live in south London so traffic can be a nightmare, it’s getting worse over the years. And I have trouble when my clients move (sometimes to other parts of London) and want me to travel to them still or I risk losing them etc, basically for many reasons the driving has become a really low point of my job. I spend more hours in my car each day than I do doing hair, even to drive just a couple of miles can take me an hour at certain times of day (the most popular times for clients).
My dream goal would be to have a little salon built in my garden, when I one day live in a house with a garden (bf and I are currently buying our first flat). However, I’m not sure how I would get all my clients to come to me, especially as some are well out of the local area. I am trying my hardest to only take new clients from my local town but as I said, it’s very hard and my long term ones are in all sorts of areas, where I have moved around over the years myself. Some of my regulars are 10+ miles away. I don’t want to have a home salon built just to be asked to still go to people mobile (which I would refuse).
Has anyone had any luck transitioning from mobile to home salon??