Moving premises help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beautie

Reaction score
Hi geeks,

I’m sorry, it’s a long one...

I’ve been working as a beauty therapist for 10 years and in my little salon now for nearly 4 years, have just taken on two part time employees and things are going great. I’m fully booked the majority of the time and they are both picking up new clients and already have regulars after just 3 months working for me, making their wage every month since they started. They obviously are no where near as busy as me but they are still fairly new.
I’m located in a busy little town, along a main road which is thriving, but my downside is that I’m above another shop and my entrance is tucked right down the side just at the end of this busy road, so we don’t get a lot of footfall, I think a hand full of walk ins in 4 years and get told a lot by new clients they didn’t even realise we were there! The salon is only small so when the time comes, I wouldn’t have room for more staff.
A premises has come up for let (which I’ve just looked around) along the same busy road but slap bang in the middle and is highly visible with the main entrance being in line with the other shops (my goal has always been to move my salon eventually to this spot when something became available) It also has a large window next to the front door ideal for window displays.
Upstairs is huge, has at least 5 treatment rooms, a bigger kitchen/staff room, massive area at the top of the stairs so potential for more rooms. Rent is under double what I pay now but is more than double the size and I am in the position to afford it each month. I can imagine it being made into something amazing & I literally would have enough space for more staff as the business kept getting busier (which I’m confident it would considering where it’s placed) and I would never have to move again.