Must haves-make up kit-please add yours

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cheekychick

Reaction score
Hi,
I've searched on here and there are a couple of old threads but I thought id start a new one (hope that's okay)
I've recently qualified in make up, still have a long way to go yet but I was wondering:

What products can't you live without/ what do you use the most?

Also any tips that might be helpful for a newbie/ anything you wished you knew when you started?

I'm not looking to steal anyone's secrets, I promise!
Im just nowhere near confident enough in my work yet and would like to learn as much as possible.
Thanks
Samantha :) x

Hi - wow where to start.
I've been building my kit for nearly 5 years and it never ends lol!
I love my Airbase foundations, besides all my other brands and types. It gives me the confidence to know that I can cover any skin colour or type wherever I go - you can brush on or spray - so never have any OMGoodness moments when meeting a client for the first time e.g. a bridesmaid/guest at a wedding. They are also easy to pack up and carry.
Disposables are a must - eyelash combs, tissues, make-up wipes for clean ups under eyes, backs of your hand - I use mine as a palette. Also hand sanitiser and brush cleaner for in between clients.
You don't need hundreds of different brushes but I do use multiples of the same brushes now. Get a cheapish brush set to begin with so you have everything you need, then identify which individual brush styles you actually prefer for each application of each product. Then go out and buy a few of each style in a decent brand that will last you. EG I have several MAC 217's and 224's - staples for eyeshadows. But I also have a trusty concealer brush that I've had for years by Smashbox. I couldn't replace it but found a copy in another brand and bought a few.