My first nail disaster

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cirrus666

Reaction score
Hello all,

I feel I need to come on here as I just had my first major nail disaster. I'm new to the industry and have completed my level 2 plus I've done an add on course in gel nails. I use shellac which has been fab up until tonight. This lady was lovely don't get me wrong (she is my hairdresser) however I did invite her over to practice doing the new holographic nails (for free) as I have not done them before. So she had acrylics on and I had a go at getting the off. They had been on for around a year so it took almost an hour to remove them as best as I could and the nail plates were still rather bumpy underneath. I though I may be here all night if I don't start painting soon. So I applied the base coat then 2 layers of colour and for some reason the polish was just dragging off, only to realise 4 of my lamp bulbs were not working (only 1 worked) :(. I then dug out my back up lamp and off we were again, trying to salvage some of my work. However I also nipped her finger and drew a little bit of blood with the nail clippers. (Again she was lovely and didn't seem phased). I just feel awful and really down about the whole thing. I'm just starting out and feel disheartened this evening. I've ordered a new lamp and hope this doesn't happen again. Is it ok to say that you don't do acrylic removal? As I think it takes me so long. Thanks for reading guys xxx

That's a situation that would stress out even experienced nail tech!
Things to take away from this are:

- if you are going to remove other people's work then charge for your time
- don't promise to apply gel on a post acrylic client. They may need to have a few weeks using something like RescueX to repair damage
-only use chrome on really smooth nails

Well done for realising your light wasn't working and swapping it.