Nail Tech qualifications, acrylic/gel question

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boop

Reaction score
I am qualified with a VTCT Manicure/Pedicure and a VTCT Nail Technology. To me that says I am a qualified Nail Technician.

I went to a local college to do the courses and while on the Nail Technology course, we only used Acrylic. So where does that leave me in regards to doing Gel Nails? I am interested in starting to do coloured gel, but am wondering if I would need to do, for instance, a foundation gel course and start from the beginning or not as technically am a qualified nail tech so should be able to purchase the kit already??
Any advice welcome, Thankyou xx

I think this means you will have to go and train in gel? Although i'm not 100%

This is a similar problem to what I had.I eventually went and done a day course in gel as I was told that because I've already covered nail anatomy,skin diseases etc.. I didn't need to start from the beginning.
I'm just getting annoyed with trying to sort insurance out as different companies say different things.

Sent from my HTC Desire S using SalonGeek

I am qualified with a VTCT Manicure/Pedicure and a VTCT Nail Technology. To me that says I am a qualified Nail Technician.

I went to a local college to do the courses and while on the Nail Technology course, we only used Acrylic. So where does that leave me in regards to doing Gel Nails? I am interested in starting to do coloured gel, but am wondering if I would need to do, for instance, a foundation gel course and start from the beginning or not as technically am a qualified nail tech so should be able to purchase the kit already??
Any advice welcome, Thankyou xx